Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

New to the community and a little bewildered

User
Posted 20 Sep 2023 at 11:17

Hello.

As per the title, I am a newbie and this forum seems a little bewildering so, needing to start somewhere, here I go.

Twenty-two months ago I was diagnosed with locally advanced prostate cancer at Guy's Cancer Centre, London. Both my father and elder brother died from the disease so it was probably only a matter of time until it was my turn. I think of it as the family curse.

Following my diagnosis there were six cycles of chemo and, after a period of recovery, thirty-seven fractions of radiotherapy at Guy's. The chemo and radiation were complete by the end of 2022. Ever since my initial diagnosis, I have also been receiving a Zoladex injection every three months. The Zoladex is due to continue for another fifteen months.

Following the chemo, my hair grew back and my fluid retention weight gain is slowly getting under control with the help of some diuretics and physiotherapy but I am struggling with side effects from the Zoladex. I wonder if anyone in the community can offer me advice or point me in a helpful direction that I have not yet explored.

The first side effect is the hot flushes that are most bothersome at night. I am awoken four, five, or six times each night and, as a result, I feel exhausted all day, every day. There has been lots of advice from the team treating me at Guy's but none has helped. I was even given fourteen hours of acupuncture at the centre but without success.

The second side effect of Zoladex is that it has caused stiffness in my joints. This is especially bad in my hands and I have lost much of my dexterity. I have received injections in both hands and lots of help from the hand therapist but the stiffness and pain remain.