Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

Hi newbie here worried with a few questions

User
Posted 06 Dec 2023 at 15:07

Hi all,

I hope you don’t mind me joining your community, I feel as though I shouldn’t be pestering you as I don’t have my biopsy until 20th December, so being the optimist I am, nothing is confirmed yet, but I can’t help worrying. 

I’ve had a rollercoaster couple of months following a blood test ordered my my GP after an innocent conversation I had with him about my waterworks, which I just thought was down to my age. He sent me for blood tests and the results came out, I can’t remember if he said very high or extremely high. I didn’t get chance to ask questions as the results were fed back over the phone. 

I visited a urologist who said there is something there but he couldn’t tell properly as he had difficulty doing the examination. He sent me for an MRI scan. A few weeks later I receive a letter saying a telephone conversation had been booked with another Dr or Consultant, I don’t know which. At this point I thought great, they don’t give bad news over the phone. 

I got the call and the Dr / Consultant said “we should really be meeting face to face, I don’t know why they arranged a telephone appointment” he continued that I have a “high risk” of prostrate cancer. I had it in my mind I was ok, so it came as a shock. The conversation lasted 5 to 10 minutes, he told me what he was going to say in his letter to me, but it didn’t sink in, I wasn’t given the opportunity to ask questions, so I don’t know why it’s considered “highly likely”. I’m  still waiting for the letter almost 3 weeks later. My GP hasn’t received a letter either,  however I do know I’ve been referred for the biopsy and I rang up to book that myself.