Know exactly what you want?
Show search

Notification

Error

TULSA

User
Posted 13 Jun 2020 at 14:45

Hi

I'm new to the forum having recently been diagnosed - 3 cores ("very small") on the left side, largest one 9mm (70% cancerous), T2b. Gleason score of 3+4, although some perineural invasion, so active surveillance is not recommended. 

I've been offered RP and EBRT, the side effects of both do not leave me with a warm cuddly feeling - although I'd admit they are probably better than the alternative.    I'm also a freelancer, so no work, no pay.

Anyone on the forum had TULSA?  I'm interested to hear your experiences.  I've read the posts on here and on the American forum, which together with their referrals have been informative.  I appreciate that opinion is divided on its efficacy, but I'd really like to hear from anyone who has actually had it, or seriously considered it but rejected it.

Thanks

Mark

User
Posted 13 Jun 2020 at 20:17

Mark 

A search of the site only seems to come up with the two conversations that discussed the procedure.

Thanks Chris

User
Posted 14 Jun 2020 at 01:36

Note Trial inclusion Criteria Inclusion Criteria: Male, age 45 to 80 years Biopsy-confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate. Biopsy (minimum 10 cores) obtained ≥ 6 weeks and ≤ 6 months before treatment, or at the discretion of PI. Clinical stage ≤ T2b Gleason score ≤ 3 + 4 PSA ≤ 15 ng/ml Eligible for MRI [Form GCP-10131] Eligible for general anesthesia (ASA category ≤ 3) Prostate volume ≤ 90 cc, on Baseline MRI Prostate size ≤ 5.0 cm in sagittal length, and ≤ 6.0 cm in axial diameter, on Baseline MRI Life expectancy ≥ 10  years 

from https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02766543

Edited by moderator 07 Dec 2022 at 11:05  | Reason: to highlight link

Barry
User
Posted 15 Jun 2020 at 21:07

Originally Posted by: Online Community Member

Hi Lyn